Region 8 Championships

AQHA Region 8 Championship Horse Show Discontinued

In April 2017, the America Quarter Horse Association discontinued the qualifying requirements to enter and compete at the Level 1 (Novice) Championship Horse Shows.  For several years, AQHA Region 8 Championship was a horse show, where a Level 1 (Novice) exhibitor could attend this one horse show place in the top ten and be qualified for the Level 1 Championship instead of entering 20 horse shows.

The first AQHA Region 8 Championship Horse Show was held in 2005.  The horse show has been managed by two volunteer members from each of the affiliates within the region.   Those associations were Kansas QHA, New Mexico QHA, Oklahoma QHA, Rocky Mountain QHA and Texas QHA.

With much soul searching, fact-finding, discussion and debate AQHA Region 8 Steering Committee has made the difficult decision, with the input of their respective associations, to discontinue hosting the AQHA Region 8 Championship Horse Show.

The June 2017 show held in Amarillo Texas with concerns about the recent changes in qualifying.  The AQHA Region 8 Steering Committee is confident that there will be new and exciting opportunities for Level 1 (Novices) exhibitors to show your American Quarter Horse.

We would like to thank all the exhibitors, spectators, vendors, staff, judges, volunteers, Mane-Events (Moore & Co) and volunteer committee members who have made the show a success over the past twelve years. Our exhibitors were amazing and made it more fun every year. We hope that you had as much fun attending as we did putting the show on!

The list of those to thank is endless.

Thank you from the volunteer members of the 2017 AQHA R 8 Steering Committee

Cal Brandt – New Mexico – Chairman

Cindy Chilton-Moore – Oklahoma – Vice Chairperson

Pat Britton – Texas

Craig Cole – Kansas

Doug George – Rocky Mountain (Colorado)

Mark Guynn – Rocky Mountain (Colorado)

Alice Holmes – Oklahoma

Evelyn Huff – New Mexico

Kim Letourneau – Rocky Mountain (Colorado)

Aaron Moeder – Kansas

Quaylene Parkey – New Mexico

Betty Wilson – Texas